HKAECT International Conference 2021

24 - 26 June 2021 Hong Kong, China
A New Paradigm for Digital Communication and Learning: Changes and Challenges
1 Mar 21
Presentation Abstract Submissions
1 Jun 21
Post-Conference Book Full Paper Submissions

About the Conference

Since the onset of COVID-19, online teaching and learning have played an increasingly vital role in shaping a new education culture in various education settings across different countries. Needless to say, online education, alongside new media, has provided ample benefits to educators and students. Nevertheless, virtual lessons and communication conducted synchronically (real-time) and asynchronically alike do bring problematic issues such as insufficient technical support, inefficient classroom management, reduced interaction between teachers and students, and growing concerns over privacy and security. With a view to shedding light on the global education climate in the midst of the pandemic, the HKAECT International Conference 2021 welcomes paper presentations that discuss the pros and cons, constraints and potential risks as the new paradigm for digital communication and learning takes place.

Why Join Us

HKAECT cordially invites you to submit abstract proposals to address topics relevant to the conference theme, including but not limited to the following:
  • Online learning and blended learning
  • Learning Environment and Design
  • New Generation of Learners and Learning, and the Role of Educators
  • MOOCs, Open Education, Open Educational Resources (OER)
  • Gamification and game-based learning
  • Assessment, Learning Analytics, Artificial Intelligence in Education
  • Communication and New Media
  • Media Psychology and Positive Media Psychology
Other relevant topics are also welcomed.

Event Starts In:

Paper and Presentation Submission

For questions about the submission, please contact:


Important Dates

Event Deadline
Presentation Abstract Submissions 1 March 2021
Post-Conference Book Full Paper Submissio 1 June 2021

Presentation Abstract Submissions (Deadline 1 March 2021)

The Conference welcomes 500-word extended abstracts to be submitted to EasyChair. In the abstracts, you should clearly state research objectives, research questions, hypotheses (if any), research methods, findings, and implications/contributions. To ensure academic quality, all abstracts will go through a blind peer-review process. Subject to authors’ successful registrations to the Conference, accepted abstracts will be included in a conference program booklet and you will be invited to make presentations at the Conference. The maximum number of an author’s submissions is two, irrespective of whether he or she is the first author of each manuscript or not.

Post-Conference Book Full Paper Submissions (Deadline: 1 June 2021)

Accepted abstracts for presentations are invited to extend into a full paper. Submissions of your manuscripts in 10-20 pages should be uploaded to EasyChair. All full papers submitted will be subject to a blind peer-review process. Upon acceptance, and subject to authors’ successful revision enhancement based on the reviewers’ comments, your manuscripts will be included in a new volume under the Educational Communications and Technology Yearbook series to be published by Springer and indexed by Web of Science/Scopus.

Template *Please do not add author details for blind review

A Sample Paper

Submit to Easychair

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Bart Rienties
Professor of Learning Analytics
Institute of Educational Technology
The Open University, UK
Read more →
Dr. Xun Ge
President-Elect, AECT
University of Oklahoma
Read more →
Dr. Timothy K. F. Hew
Associate Dean (Research Higher Degree) cum
Director, Centre for Information Technology in Education
Faculty of Education, The University of Hong Kong
Read more →
Mr. Nick Melchior
Executive Editor
Social Sciences in Australia and New Zealand
Springer Nature
Read more →

Program Organisation

International Advisory Board

Hsin-Tzu (Tommy) CHEN TAECT / Chinese Culture University
Li CHEN Beijing Normal University
Xun GE University of Oklahoma
Shih-chang HSIN TAECT
Siu Cheung KONG The Education Univeristy of Hong Kong
Feng-Qi LAI Indiana State University
Alice Y.L. LEE Hong Kong Baptist University
In-sook LEE KSET/ Sejong University
Kedong LI South China Normal University
Juhong LIU SICET / James Madison University
Mei-feng LIU Beijing Normal University
Peter SIDORKO The University of Hong Kong
Youru XIE South China Normal University
Allan H.K. YUEN Yew Chung College of Early Childhood Education

International Programme Committee

Beth Teagarden BAIR University of Miami
Rik BAIR University of Miami
Yoo Kyung CHANG Columbia University
Jason Chi wai CHEN The Education Univeristy of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Yang-Hsueh CHEN National Chengchi University
Raymond Chi Fai CHUI Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Holly CHUNG The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Lesa Covington CLARKSON University of Minnesota
Angeline GUO Macquarie University
Iris Yiru LAI Zhejiang Normal University
Wilfred W.F. LAU The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Tracy LEE Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Ken LI Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education
Juhong Christine LIU James Madison University
Chun Kwan LO The Education University of Hong Kong
Noble Po Kan LO Hong Kong Community College, HK Polytechnic University
Jiutong LUO The University of Hong Kong
Scott MCLEOD University of Colorado-Denver
Su MU South China Normal University
Ann OOMS Kingston University and St George’s, University of London
Jae Hyung PARK The Education University of Hong Kong
Aynur SARISAKALOGLU Turkish-German University
Wilhelmina SAVENYE Arizona State University
Hing Wa (Helena) SIT The University of Newcastle (Australia)
Nicolson SIU Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Howard Zhaoxun SONG The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Yin Yi TAN Universiti Sains Malaysia
Nigel Sidley THOMPSON Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Hamed Khodadadi TIRKOLAEI Arizona State University
Howard Zhaoxun SONG The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Jessica TO The University of Hong Kong
Wanli XING University of Florida
Yi ZHANG Central China Normal University

Organization Committee

Conference Chair
Will W. K. MA Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi)
Program Co-Chairs
Chi-Keung CHAN Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Wendy CHAN Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Anna TSO Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Shurui BAI The University of Hong Kong
Miaoting (Cat) CHENG Shenzhen University
Chenggui DUAN Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Rose C.W. FONG QAHE / Northumbria University London
Timothy K.F. HEW The University of Hong Kong
Steven K. K. NG International Hybrid Learning Society
Kar-wai TONG City University of Hong Kong
Cora Junru YANG Renaissance College Hong Kong




The University of Hong Kong Libraries

The University of Hong Kong Libraries