HKAECT International Conference 2019

on 17-19 June 2018
at Chu Hai College of Higher Education, Hong Kon

[Download Call for Participation]



chu hai

Centre for Crossmedia Culture Studies

Call for Participation
Technology has significant impact on education and communication. On the one hand, the whole learning process can be digitized, captured and analyzed that the data informs academic and practitioners for a continuous improvement in curriculum development, teaching philosophy, pedagogy, learner characteristics, student engagement, assessment and feedback. On the other hand, to a broader perspective, technology changes the way we communicate, in form of interpersonal communication, small group communication, mass media and journalism, new media, and social media. HKAECT International Conference 2019 provides a forum for exchanges of theory and practices on technology in education and communication. This platform provides a linkage between local and international academics and practitioners, and among institutions, society and the world. HKAECT International Conference 2019 aims to enhance the contribution of applied research and scholarship; support the development and application of new conceptual frameworks; improve the quality of contemporary practices; and encourage the continuous revisit of theories.

HKAECT International Conference 2019 cordially invites submissions for the below topics, but will not be restricted to:

  • Curriculum development, pedagogy and Instructional designs
  • Role and nature of knowledge, teaching philosophies
  • Professional development and leadership
  • Learner characteristics and student engagement
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Online learning, Open Education Resources (OER) and MOOCs
  • Multimedia, interaction and learners’ community building
  • Learning and data analytics, assessment and feedback
  • Communication and media
  • Interpersonal relationship and communication
  • Media and art, media and education
  • Newspaper, magazine, radio, TV and online news
  • Advertising, public relations, social and political advocacy
  • New media, social media and crossmedia
  • Ethical issues

Other relevant topics would also be considered.

Full Paper Submission
Please submit the manuscript in 8 – 14 pages to Easychair. The full paper submission will go through a blind peer review process. Accepted full papers will be included in a volume of the Educational Communications and Technology Yearbook series, published by Springer. HKAECT 2014 and HKAECT 2017 Springer Book are indexed by Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics / ISI).

[Submit here]

Presentation Submission
Please submit a 500 words extended abstract to Easychair. The abstract should clearly state the research objective, research question, the hypotheses (if any), the method, the findings, and the implications. The abstract will go through a blind peer review process. Accepted abstracts will be included in the Conference Program and authors will be invited to present at the conference.

[Submit here]

Important Dates
15 October 2018            Full paper submission due
15 November 2018        Notification of acceptance of full paper
15 December 2018        Full paper authors’ registration due
15 January 2019              Presentation abstract submission due
15 February 2019            Notification of acceptance of presentation abstract
15 March 2019                Early bird registration due



President-Elect AECT / Head of Department, Instructional Systems and Workforce Development, Mississippi State University

Prof. Shih-chang HSIN, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President and Professor of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Tsing Hua University
President, Taiwan Educational Communications and Technology (TAECT)(2017-18)

Prof. Steve GUO, Ph.D.
Director of MA in Communication, Department of Journalism, Hong Kong Baptist University

International Advisory Board
Hsin-Tzu(Tommy) CHEN, TAECT / Chinese Culture University
Ana-Paula CORREIA, The Ohio State University
Ana DONALDSON, AECT / University of Northern lowa
Feng Qi- LAI, Indiana State University
Alice Y. LEE, Hong Kong Baptist University
Kedong LI, South China Normal University
Juhong LIU, SICET / James Madison University
Lin LIN, SICET / University of North Texas
Meifung LIU, Bejing Normal University
Kay A. PERSICHITTE, AECT / University of Wyoming
Michael J. SPECTOR, AECT / University of North Texas
Timothy TEO, University of Macau
Cheng-Chih WU, National Taiwan Normal University
Eugene KOWCH, AECT / University of Calgary
Shih-chang HSIN, TAECT/ National Tsing Hua University
David WONG, Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Chiu Kay TANG, Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Allan H. K. YUEN, The University of Hong Kong

Conference Organizing Committee
Conference Chair
Will W. K. MA, Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi)
Program Chair
Wendy W. L. CHAN, Chu Hai College of Higher Education
Cat Miaoting CHENG, The University of Hong Kong
Heidi FUNG, Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Timothy K. F. HEW, The University of Hong Kong

International Program Committee
Alex Chi Keung CHAN, Hong Kong Shue Yan University
Robert DOYLE, Harvard University
Kevin Kai-wing HO, University of Guam
Wilfred W.F. LAU, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Jin 'Joy' MAO, Wilkes University
Scott MCLEOD, University of Colorado-Denver
Steven K. K. NG, University of Sunderland
Ann OOMS, Kingston University and St.Geroge’s University London
Yanjie SONG, The Education University of Hong Kong
Meng SUN, The University of Hong Kong
Hengtao TANG, University of West Georgia
Ying TANG, The University of Hong Kong
Chi Hung WONG, The Open University of Hong Kong
Wanli XING, Texas Tech University
Meina ZHU, Indiana University


(Last updated: 2018-08-14 )